International Transplant Nurses Society
spacer   spacer   spacer   spacer  

Transplant Nursing Core Competencies

Core CompetenciesCompetencies for nurses working in the area of transplantation are presented. Fifteen domains of practice are identified. Within each domain, competencies for the three primary nursing roles (Transplant Nurse, Transplant Nurse Coordinator, and Advanced Practice Transplant Nurse) are delineated.

Scope and Standards of Practice
for Transplant Nurses

Scope and Standards BookTransplant Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice describes transplant nursing and its development, characteristics of transplant nursing, educational requirements, globalization, palliative care, ethics and informed decisions, advanced practice transplant nursing, specialty certification, and future considerations. VIsit ANA Scope and Standards Quick Reference [PDF] for a listing of the features of the standards of practice and standards of professional performance.

The standards for transplant nursing and standards for professional practice are presented for the transplant nurse, the transplant nurse coordinator, and the advanced practice transplant nurse. Transplant Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice is based upon three foundational nursing documents Nursing’s Social Policy Statement, Second Edition (ANA, 2003), the Code of Ethics for Nurses With Interpretive Statements (ANA, 2004), and Nursing Scope and Standards of Practice (ANA, 2009). The Transplant Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice will provide guidance in identifying the components of quality transplant nursing practice.

To Order

Visit our online store or call Member Services at 847.375.6340